Perhaps it was nothing more than that New York City energy, but APTA TRANSform was certainly one of the most fun and packed agendas at an APTA conference in quite some time.

The conference kicked off on Sunday, with a day filled with committee meetings—everything from Workforce Development to EXPO Advisory and the Business Members Board of Governors met and had great discussions on how to continue moving the industry forward.

Additionally, the multi-day program was filled with fabulous sessions. Topics covered ranged from Creative Funding Opportunities, Transit’s Link to Health, Wellness and Livable Communities, an Update from the FTA, Visions, Priorities and Strategies of new CEOs, and New Mobility and the First Mile / Last Mile.

Also, the top-notch Technical Tours did not disappoint. The tours offered included a tour of Grand Central Terminal, History Making: Art in the Second Avenue Subway, Staten Island Ferry Ride and Tour, a Tour of The Roosevelt Island Tramway and another tour of the Rail Control Center.

CEO Roundtable

One of the biggest highlights of the entire conference was the APTA Honors Breakfast—it was such a feel-good time celebrating the achievements of the industry’s finest individuals and organizations. We honored the “best of the best” of the public transportation industry. The winners are outstanding role models of excellence, leadership and innovation, whose accomplishments have greatly advanced public transportation.

Once again, Genfare would like to congratulate the 2019 APTA Honorees and Award recipients:


  • Milwaukee County Transit System (MCTS)
  • Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART)

Outstanding Public Transportation System Achievement

  • Blacksburg Transit (BT)
  • C-TRAN (Vancouver, WA)
  • TransLink (Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada)

Local Distinguished Service

  • Mayor Madeline Rogero – Knoxville, TN

State Distinguished Service

  • State Senator Jim Beall – California (15th District) 

Outstanding Public Transportation Business Member

  • Jeffrey Wharton – SYSTRA

Outstanding Public Transportation Board Member

  • Carol Herrera – Foothill Transit 

Outstanding Public Transportation Manager

  • Henry Li – Sacramento Regional Transit District 

Hall of Fame

  • Tony Kouneski – KL2 Connects 
  • Paul A. Toliver – Community Transit, Snohomish County, WA
  • Michael S. Townes
  • Richard A. White – Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA)